DTLA BUS STOP II

At a DTLA bus stop today, yet another affirmation about the connectivity of all us human beings. A woman showed us her daughter’s Quincinera’s dress, which she needs to finish by Friday because the event is on Sat. But she was in panic mode because she could not find the right beads to finish the dress . A black woman told her where to go to get the oval shaped jade green beads her daughter insisted on having on her dress. The Latina woman hugged the black woman, and offered her a five dollar Starbucks gift card, which the black woman declined. ” You just get your daughter’s dress made ok? Besides I don’t like coffee.” Another women showed us a brand new dvd copy of ROGER RABBIT. We asked her to explain why she was proudly waving the dvd of Roger Rabbit in front of our all our faces. When she was ten years old her mother was about to take her and her best friend to see Roger Rabbit, but her mother walked in on her daughter kissing her best (Female) friend on the top bunk. She looked at them and said ” Tell Natalie to go home. And we won’t be going to see Roger Rabbit today.” Her mother gave her daugher dvd copy of ROGER RABBIT last night as a birthday gift to communicate acceptance. You could tell it meant a lot to the mid thirties woman , she was all smiles as she ate her banana flavored laffy taffy. The bus came by and scooped everyone up except for me and this elderly woman. ” Why aren’t you getting on the bus?” I asked. ” I come here to listen to people and their struggles. Their pain,their wounds, and their hardship. Than I pray for them.” I invited her to coffee but she declined . ” I don’t like coffee”, but you get along and have a productive day young man.” I walked off, I turned around and saw the woman praying. Her ruby red rosary beads glistened in the late afternoon sun like red balls of fire. I wiped the sweat of my brow and went back to my loft to work.

Leave a Reply

