The Chocolate Lab and Hermes Scarf

Was in an elevator when an elderly gentleman entered. There was a somber aura about him. His very friendly chocolate lab had a colorful Hermes scarf wrapped around it’s neck. I laughed and asked the man.
” Uh, is that a Hermes scarf around your dog’s neck?”
Than the man started crying .
” Are you ok?” I asked him.
” Forgive me. My wife passed away two days ago.” I quickly rummaged through my mind for the word CONDOLENCES in German, but could not find it. I was lost in my vault of faulty German vocabulary and my tongue turned into a sad stone.
” The scarf that Ellie wears around her neck, was my wife’s favorite scarf, and she wore it all the time. When she died, Ellie pulled it out of the closet and laid on it for the whole day.”
The elevator door opened, and Ellie , the chocolate lab put her front right paw on my left leg. Her beautiful glossy mahogany eyes stared into mine.
” She wants you to join us for our walk , would you like to?”
” Yeah, sure” I replied , as Ellie wagged her tail. We went walking through the park and noticed the new Spring leaves budding from the dark bare branches.
” I’m glad Spring is here.” said the man.
” Me too. ” I said as Ellie ran after a goose.Labrador_Retriever_chocolate_Hershey_sit_(cropped)

2 thoughts on “The Chocolate Lab and Hermes Scarf

  1. Pingback: The Chocolate Lab and Hermes Scarf | Alex C. Muñoz

Leave a Reply

